Louise Penny - Author Profile

If you havden't discovered Louise Penny yet, you are in for a real treat.  Her most recent novel, The Beautiful Mystery, is now number 2 on the New York Times Bestseller List and her first novel, Still Life, will be made into a TV movie by the CBC.

Louise Penny writes a mystery series featuring Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Sûreté du Québec. Gamache is a man of moral integrity. He is intelligent, loves to eat, and has the loyalty of his colleagues. While Gamache is the main attraction here, Penny's fans also enjoy her cast of secondary characters, especially the residents of Three Pines. Penny's settings have a timeless feel, and the tone of her novels is that of hope and resilience despite adversity. The mysteries themselves are intricate and quirky, while their pacing reflects the thoughtful pace of Gamache himself.

Inspector Gamache series:

Still Life

Volume 1

Still Life

Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of Canada's Sûreté du Quebec is called to Three Pines, a tiny hamlet south of Montreal, just north of the U.S. border, to investigate the suspicious hunting "accident" that claimed the life of Jane Neal, a local fixture in the village.

  Voume 2 A Fatal Grace

Volume 3 The Cruelest Month

Volume 4 A Rule Against Murder

Volume 5 The Brutal Telling

Volume 6  Bury Your Dead

Volume 7 A Trick of the Light

Volume 8 The Beautiful Mystery

Source:  Author website and Novelist